The ACT Rockets indoor cricket dynasty is in full swing

The fists flying into the air and the looks of pure elation on their faces can mean only one thing: the ACT Rockets dynasty is in full swing.

The Rockets defeated Victoria by 20 runs in the men's open grand final at the Australian indoor cricket championships in Toowoomba on Saturday.

The ACT Rockets have won two national indoor cricket titles in as many years.

The ACT Rockets have won two national indoor cricket titles in as many years.

The ACT kept Victoria's final batting pair scoreless in a remarkable finish, claiming a thrilling 66-46 win to clinch back-to-back titles.

Brock Winkler (178 runs) and Tim Floros (163) were superb with the bat throughout the tournament to complement their efforts with the ball, both claiming 16 scalps on their way to the silverware.

Their bowling numbers were bettered only by Tim's brother Benji, who claimed 17 wickets to solidify his status as one of Australian indoor cricket's premier quicks.

The ACT dropped just two games and had one draw on their way to the title, winning 11 games to cement themselves as the powerhouse in men's indoor cricket.

What is more impressive is the fact the Rockets did it without indoor great Vinesh Bennett, who retired after Australia's World Cup campaign last year.

The Rockets have now won three of the past four men's open championships – the only exception was a heartbreaking grand final defeat against Queensland in 2016.

Buoyed by ex-Queensland and Brisbane Heat star Kara Sutherland, Queensland won the open women's title with a 106-55 demolition of South Australia.

Source: Read Full Article