Eddie Jones slams World Rugby for admitting video ref’s vital call was wrong

Eddie Jones has blasted World Rugby for hanging Twickenham’s blundering video referee out to dry.

Three days after television match official Glenn Newman chalked off Gareth Anscombe’s try for Wales against England, the sport’s rulers publicly declared he had been wrong to do so.

An unimpressed Jones said: “Once the game’s done and dusted, that’s the game. You can’t have retrospective refereeing of decisions being done. We’ve got to trust the referees, respect their integrity.



“When I say ‘respect the referee’, that’s the TV process as well. And then you leave it at that. You get on with it. One side’s won, one side’s lost.

“In Japan they have a great saying, ‘At full-time, there’s no side.’ That’s one of the traditions of rugby — you get on with it, you respect that decision.

“If you haven’t got the rub of the green then you know you probably get it in the next couple of games.”

Jones added that World Rugby had previous when it comes to turning on their own – referring to the 2015 World Cup when they said ref Craig Joubert had been wrong to award the penalty that cost Scotland a semi-final spot.

Tuesday’s statement read: “The TMO made an error in the application of law during the England versus Wales match at Twickenham.

“In accordance with law 21.1 b Wales should have been awarded a try as the Wales player grounded the ball.”

England No.8 Sam Simmonds has been ruled out of England’s next two games with a damaged shoulder joint.

Centre Owen Farrell and wing Anthony Watson will not train this week due to leg knocks, but should be fit to face Scotland on Saturday week.

England survived the first of their two days’ scrummaging against imported experts Georgia, with Jones admitting: “Early on they had the superiority, but we came back fairly well.”

Who is going to win the 2018 Six Nations?

Source: https://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/rugby-union/england-coach-eddie-jones-slams-12021332

Leave a Reply