Former No. 1 Pliskova bashes umpire's chair with racquet after loss

Former world No. 1 Karolina Pliskova was so irate with an umpire at a Wednesday tournament in Rome that she hit the umpire's chair with her racquet several times – instead of shaking hands – after a stunning loss to Maria Sakkari.

Pliskova, the No. 6 seed from the Czech Republic, lost 3-6, 6-3, 7-5 in the second round of the Italian Open. She argued with the umpire on several occasions during the match about points that went out of her favor and calls that were obviously wrong when shown on replay.

Not happy: Karolina Pliskova took her frustration out on an umpire’s chair.

As both players went to shake hands with the umpire in typical sportsmanlike fashion after the match, Pliskova first put her hand out before beating up the chair. Her short tantrum surprised Sakkari and led to several social media photos illustrating the damage to the umpire's chair.

No fine has been announced, and messages left with the Women's Tennis Association were not immediately returned.

USA Today

Source: Read Full Article