Manuel Lanzini fails appeal against diving ban and will serve two-match suspension

MANUEL LANZINI'S appeal to have his ban overturned for diving has been rejected.

The Hammers ace will now serve a two-match suspension starting with West Ham's Carabao Cup quarter-final cup clash with Arsenal on Tuesday night.

Lanzini was awarded a penalty against Stoke last Saturday but replays showed Erik Pieters made no contact with the Argentine.

West Ham attempted to appeal the FA charge and attempted to provide evidence that Lanzini denied the charge of 'Successful Deception of a Match Official.'

He will also miss a home clash against Rafa Benitez's Newcastle on Saturday.

The 24-year-old is the second Premier League player charged with the offence after Everton's Oumar Niasse was banned for two games.


The away side went on to win 3-0, but Potters boss Mark Hughes was aggrieved that his side were pegged back by such a controversial decision, while their opponents walked away with all three points.

Hughes said of the charge: "Whether or not he is or not, it doesn't help us.

"He's clearly dived. He's a clever player, he'll draw a foul or some kind of challenge but he wasn't clipped.

"Referees need to get match-defining decisions correct and he certainly didn't get that one correct."

 

https://twitter.com/intent/tweet?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.thesun.co.uk%2Fsport%2Ffootball%2F5174168%2Fmanuel-lanzini-fails-appeal-against-diving-and-will-serve-two-match-suspension%2F&text=” target=”_blank” title=”Click to share on Twitter
Source: https://www.thesun.co.uk/sport/football/5174168/manuel-lanzini-fails-appeal-against-diving-and-will-serve-two-match-suspension/

Leave a Reply