Gmail users can finally ‘unsend’ embarrassing emails

Gmail users can ‘unsend’ embarrassing messages on Android if they recall them within 10 seconds

  • An ‘undo’ button now appears at the bottom of your screen once you hit send
  • Clicking on it pulls your message back and opens it as a draft for editing 
  • It rolled out to users worldwide in Google’s latest Gmail update
  • e-mail

1

View
comments

Gmail users on Android now have access to a helpful feature that allows you to ‘unsend’ embarrassing emails.

However, you will have just ten seconds to recall a message before the option disappears and the email is sent.

The option comes in the form of an ‘undo’ button that appears on your screen after you click ‘send’ on a message.

It rolled out to users worldwide in Google’s latest update of its email service.

Scroll down for video 


Gmail’s Android app now includes a helpful feature that allows you to ‘unsend’ embarrassing emails. The option comes in the form of an ‘undo’ button (bottom right) that appears at the bottom of your screen after you click ‘send’ on a message

The feature was already available on desktop and iOS versions of Gmail.

But Google stopped short of granting users the ability to choose the time limit you have to ‘unsend’ messages – a setting desktop users can change.

To recall a message, simply tap the ‘undo’ option that appears at the bottom of your screen once an email has been sent.

  • Autistic grandad builds the ‘world’s first’ F-35B flight… Sixty nine major earthquakes hit the Pacific’s Ring of Fire… New iPhone release date: When will the new iPhone X be… People who believe in a God who created Earth are more…

Share this article

Tapping the button will bring the email back to a draft so you can edit it before re-sending.

The undo button lingers for around ten seconds before it disappears for good, meaning you can no longer retrieve the email.

It is unclear exactly when Google rolled out the change, but the feature appears on all versions of the service beyond version 8.7.


You will have just 10 seconds to recall a Gmail message before the option disappears and the email is sent (stock image)

Google has rolled out a number of changes to its email service in recent months.

They include a new ‘confidential mode’ released to users with a service-wide redesign last month.

It can be switched-on when drafting an email to add extra security to emails with sensitive information.

Users can block recipients from forwarding or printing an email, add a ‘self-destruct’ timer to messages, or require that users click a link before reading.

Google believes the feature will help people who accidentally share information with the wrong person.

WHAT FEATURES DOES THE NEW GMAIL INCLUDE?

Snooze – Gmail has added a hover menu that has the option to snooze messages until a specific time

Nudging – The nudging feature relies on AI flagging messages that are from a certain sender and contain specific content. 

The company estimates that the ‘nudges’ feature will lead 8 per cent of business users each week to remember to follow-up on something important.

High priority notifications – Gmail will use its in-built AI to flag high-priority notifications. It says this will ‘help you stay focused without interruption’

Unsubscribe -Gmail will start suggesting when to unsubscribe from newsletters or offers you no longer care about

The new layout will allow users to click on attachments without needing to scroll through large conversations. The snooze button will allow users to delay some emails until they have time to address it Credit: Google

Attachment chips – You can view and download attachments without opening an email

Confidential mode – Users who enable a ‘confidential’ option when sending an email can time-limit its access to recipients. 

The new setting does not override corporate email retention policies or present new obstacles to law enforcement.

Recipients can also be blocked from being able to forward, download or print an email.  

Improved security – Google’s machine-learning algorithms will run safety checks on every message received and will alert users in bold when it spots something that appears to be a threat.  

Two-factor authentication is also being added so users can request the recipient authenticates themselves with a passcode received by text message before opening the confidential mail. 


Google is also trying to up its security and protection for users against fraudulent emails and spam with alert of potentially risky emails

Smart replies – These will let users rapidly answer with a automatic response.

New look – Cosmetic changes bring Gmail’s website in line with Office by placing Google’s calendar, tasks and note-taking services within the same page as emails. 

Generally, the design aims to be less cluttered with side panel that provide access to Google’s other apps such as Calendar.

How to get it – Users will be invited to opt in to the new changes from today, but most can also opt-in by going to ‘Settings’ and selecting ‘Try the new Gmail’.

In order to go back to the original Gmail, users can go to the same place and select ‘Go back to classic Gmail’.  

However, the Department of Homeland Security has now warned that the tool could make it easier for cyber criminals to carry out phishing attacks.

Hackers purporting to be someone else could send out mass scam messages containing fake confidential links that steal people’s data.

A spokesperson for Google said Gmail already had AI spam-detection systems in place to spot phishing emails and block them before they reach people’s inboxes.

But an expert told ABC that the tool still poses a risk to users because it normalises the process of blindly clicking links within emails.

John Cohen, former acting undersecretary of the Department of Homeland Security, said: ‘[It] may actually place users at a higher risk because it may support a pattern of behavior where people click on links they receive.’ 

Source: Read Full Article