Lunar eclipse time: What time is the partial eclipse? When will Full Moon peak tomorrow?

Tomorrow’s Full Moon is the so-called Buck Moon – the seventh Full Moon of the year in the month of July. This year, the Full Moon’s arrival is marked by two very special events. Firstly, a partial lunar eclipse will obscure parts of the glowing orb from sight. And secondly, July 16 happens to mark the 50th anniversary of NASA’s Apollo 11 mission launch.

What time is the partial lunar eclipse tomorrow?

The lunar eclipse will arrive on the night of Tuesday, July 16, to Wednesday, July 17.

The eclipse will peak everywhere in the nightside of Earth at the same time but the times will vary across different time zones.

Another thing to consider is whether the eclipse will be visible from your part of the world tomorrow.

According to space agency NASA, the lunar eclipse will only be visible from Europe, Africa, the Middle East, Asia and Australia.

The moment of so-called maximum eclipse – the midway point – will peak at 10.31pm BST (9.31pm UTC) on Tuesday night.

But there are two eclipse stages before and after the peak to look for as well.

Altogether, the eclipse will last for more than five hours in the zones of full visibility.

The first stage of the eclipse, known as penumbral eclipsing, will pick off at 7.43pm BST (6.43pm UTC).

Partial eclipsing, when the Moon enters the Earth’s darkest shadow, will begin around 9.01pm BST (8.01pm UTC).

Once the Moon enters as far as it can go into the Earth’s shadow at maximum eclipse, the partial eclipse will start to recede.

Partial eclipsing will come to a conclusion around midnight BST (11pm UTC).

The next Full Moon will be on Tuesday afternoon, July 16

NASA

The last stage, penumbral eclipsing, will end around 1.17pm BST (12.17pm UTC).

Unfortunately, here in the UK, the first two stages will unfold below the horizon.

This means the Full Moon will already rise eclipsed around 9.06pm BST (8.06pm UTC) when viewed from London.

You can check your exact timings by entering your city or town here.

What time will the Full Moon peak tomorrow?

During the Full Moon’s peak, the Earth-facing side of the Moon is fully illuminated by the Moon.

Here in the UK, when viewed from London, the Full Moon will peak in brightness during the eclipse at 10.38pm BST (9.38pm UTC).

NASA said: “The next full Moon will be on Tuesday afternoon, July 16, 2019, appearing ‘opposite’ the Sun at 5.38pm EDT.

“The Moon will appear full for about three days around this time, from Monday night through Thursday morning.”

Source: Read Full Article