All four members of ‘The Squad’ cruise to reelection with newcomers arriving

The Squad is staying in Washington — and may be growing.

The four progressive congresswomen who make up the group — Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez of New York, Ilhan Omar of Minnesota, Ayanna Pressley of Massachusetts, and Rashida Tlaib of Michigan — were each set to glide to re-election on Tuesday.

Bronx-born Ocasio-Cortez, 31, trounced Republican challenger John Cummings, securing another two years in Congress.

Meanwhile, Omar, 38, also sailed to a double-digit victory over Lacy Johnson, a black IT engineer endorsed by President Trump.

Both Pressley, 46, and Tlaib, 44, also seemed poised to win by large margins.

All four of the reps were endorsed by Justice Democrats, a progressive group that backed at least two more House candidates who won their races in 2020: Jamaal Bowman in New York and Cori Bush in Missouri.

Bush, a Black Lives Matter activist, was also featured in the 2019 Netflix documentary “Knock Down the House.”

The doc followed the 2018 primary campaigns of four Democratic female candidates, including Ocasio-Cortez.

Share this article:

Source: Read Full Article