Crystal Palace star Wilfried Zaha left sweating over dive accusation as FA chiefs investigate the incident

FA disciplinary chiefs must today decide if they charge Wilfried Zaha for diving.

Referee Kevin Friend awarded two penalties for fouls against Zaha during Crystal Palace’s stormy 2-2 draw with Bournemouth at Selhurst Park.

And SunSport understands the Palace winger is unlikely to be the second Premier League player to be suspended for simulation this term.

But former ref Mark Halsey claims that he was guilty of “successful deception of a match official” and should be hit with a two-match ban.

Halsey said: “In my view, Zaha is looking to deceive the referee. If the FA are going to be consistent, having charged Everton’s Oumar Niasse last month, they have surely got to be looking at doing the same with Zaha.

“I don’t think the first one was a penalty.

“Zaha is already going down and it looks like he initiates contact when the keeper is taking his arm away.”

With bottom of the table Palace at home to Watford on Tuesday night, FA chiefs must rule on a potential suspension today.

But boss Roy Hodgson said: “Wilfried doesn’t dive.

“That’s a simple matter of fact.”

 

Source: https://www.thesun.co.uk/sport/5109735/crystal-palace-wilfried-zaha-dive-fa/

Leave a Reply