Perseids 2019 NASA live stream – how to watch the Perseid meteor shower online

The Perseid meteor shower reaches its peak tonight, promising to fill the night sky with hundreds of shooting stars.

But with a full moon approaching, and the Met Office warning of rain and thunderstorms across parts of the UK, the chances of you being able to see them are fairly slim.

Luckily, NASA is planning to live stream the meteor shower (weather permitting) from a camera in Huntsville, Alabama, on its Meteor Watch Facebook page.

The broadcast will start at around 8pm EDT (1am BST) tonight, and continue until the early hours of August 13.

Alternatively, astronomy broadcaster Slooh will stream a live webcast of the Perseids , hosted by astrophysicist Dr Paige Godfrey, from 9pm EDT (2am BST). However, there is a subscription fee.

Viewers will be able to watch the shower from observatory locations in North Africa, the Middle East, and Europe using special low-light video cameras.

"The Perseids Meteor Shower is a favourite for many stargazers because it has more bright meteors than most showers – sometimes as many as 50-60 per hour under ideal conditions," said Slooh.

"However, this year is compromised by moonlight so only the brightest meteors will be visible until moonset.

"But Slooh's special low-light video cameras will also detect fainter meteors – even against the bright moonlight.

If staying up that late sounds a bit daunting, the Virtual Telescope Project will be starting its live stream on YouTube a little earlier, at 10pm GMT (11pm BST).

Led by astrophysicist Gianluca Masi, the project pledges to "share the view of our wide field cameras, to show any potential meteor they will capture."

What is the Perseid meteor shower?

Every year, Earth passes through the trail of debris left behind by Comet Swift-Tuttle during its last visit to the inner solar system in 1992.

As tiny pieces of comet debris collide with our atmosphere, they burn up, resulting in a meteor shower.

Swift-Tuttle's debris zone is so wide that Earth spends weeks inside it. Indeed, it is not unusual for sky watchers to see a few Perseids streaking across the midnight sky as early as July.

However, rates are highest in August when Earth passes through the heart of the debris zone.

How to watch the Perseid meteor shower


Source: Read Full Article